The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

National Governing Body for Curling in Scotland


Academy is a Scottish Development Programme supported by The Royal Caledonian Curling Club.

We aim to invest programme support in athletes/teams who are fully committed to a Development Programme with the prospect and ultimate outcome of being able to medal at World level.

Inclusion in the programme will be seen as an “investment decision” for future potential.  The key question that will be asked when making any selection decision:-

 Is there a realistic potential of this athlete being

World Class Medal standard?


The RCCC intends to build a strong pathway which delivers and aligns with the World Class Programme and which identifies and develops athletes.

The athletes selected to the 2014-15 Academy are: 8 Women and 8 Men.  Names of the athletes in the Academy can be found below:

Karina Aitken
Rachael Halliday
Sophie Sinclair
Laura Barr

Katie Murray
Sophie Jackson
Hailey Duff
Ellie Fraser

Robin Brydone
David Baird
Calum Greenwood
Thomas Halder

Cameron Bryce
Zack Stewart
Fraser Kingan
Frazer Shaw

Further information regarding the Academy, its Aims and Selection Policy can be found in the Performance Foundation & RCA Selection Policy 2015 – 2016 or contact Barbara McFarlane