The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

National Governing Body for Curling in Scotland


Academy is a Scottish Development Programme supported by The Royal Caledonian Curling Club.

We aim to invest programme support in athletes/teams who are fully committed to a Development Programme with the prospect and ultimate outcome of being able to medal at World level. Inclusion in the programme will be seen as an “investment decision” for future potential.

The RCCC intends to build a strong pathway which delivers and aligns with the World Class Programme and which identifies and develops athletes.

Apply Now for 2016-17 Academy

A key change this year is that applications are invited from individual curlers, and successful applicants will form their own teams. Applications will be considered from those competing in Junior, Men’s and Women’s events. Please note that those choosing to focus on Mixed Doubles may be considered for selection in future years.

Some teams may have Academy athletes and non-Academy athletes in their formation. To support development of curling more widely, all teams that have an Academy athlete within it will be invited to attend specific RCCC Academy Team Training.

To encourage wider development, there will be incentives available to all teams competing in the Asham Under 21 Slam with entry to EJCT and CCT events provided to the top teams. At this stage, confirmations are being made with Local Organising Committees to guarantee places, and more information will be made available soon as well as being included on the entry forms.

For more information download the Academy Selection Policy 2016-17. Apply using the Academy Note of Interest Form

Closing date for Academy applications is 5pm on Friday 29th April. Application forms should be sent by email to Barbara McFarlane (late entries will not be considered).

2015-16 Academy Athletes

Robin Brydone
Callum Kinnear
Callum Greenwood
Craig Waddell
Thomas Muirhead (Podium Potential)

Cameron Bryce
Zack Stewart
Fraser Kingan
Frazer Shaw

Ross Whyte
David Baird
James Baird
Gavin Barr
Euan Kyle

Katie Murray
Rebecca Morrison
Hailey Duff
Mili Smith

Karina Aitken
Amy MacDonald
Sophie Sinclair
Laura Barr