The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

National Governing Body for Curling in Scotland

Muirhead and Murdoch in Toronto for Grand Slam Major

Posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 1:19pm

The Players Championship starts later today in Toronto, Canada, with both Team Muirhead and Team Murdoch taking part. Teams are invited to take part in the Players Championship based on the World Curling Tour’s year-to-date order of merit (OOM) ranking system. The Players’ Championship is the fourth and final major on the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season.

First held in Calgary in 1993, a women’s division was added in 2006 and has been won by Team Muirhead twice, the first being in 2013, when her team became the first non-Canadian team to win a Grand Slam of Curling event. Team Muirhead will be returning to defend their title without teammate Anna Sloan, who is unable to compete due to injury. However they have recruited Cathy Overton-Clapham, a Canadian curler who has won the Players Championship three times herself, while playing third to Jennifer Jones in 2006, 2007 and 2009.

To follow the event, visit Players Championship, Grand Slam of Curling.

Photo © 2016 Brian Battensby