The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

National Governing Body for Curling in Scotland

Junior Curling

Juniors are the future of curling and the RCCC aims to ensure that youths can access support and develop their skills to reach their optimum level.

There are currently over 1200 juniors benefitting from their RCCC affiliation and who are regularly participating in curling throughout Scotland.

The Skill Awards programme is a series of 6 progressive awards, each of which has a practical and a theoretical element designed to improve individual skills. The majority of junior clubs have now implemented the Skills Awards to their junior club programme.

In this section you will find details of the RCCC Junior Summer Camp open to 13-17 year olds. The summer camp is one of the RCCC’s most successful events and is high in demand so get your applications in early!

Newcomers Competition

This competition is open to juniors aged 16 and under. 72 individuals are compiled into 18 teams with each game playing 4 x 3 end round-robin games prior to the knock-out stages.

This event is popular for juniors new to the competitive circuit and there is always great camaraderie, both on and off the ice.

The 2014 High Road Winners pictured are L-R; Mark Adam, Hannah Beattie, Holly Wilkie-Milne & Sam King.
Newcomers Competition High Road winners
The 2014 Low Road Winners pictured are L-R; David Buchanan, Lisa Davie, Erin Furey & Gregor Young.
Newcomers Competition Low Road winners

Funspiel Competition

The Funspiel is open to Under 13 and Under 15 teams from RCCC affiliated junior clubs. Regional Qualifiers are hosted in the early stage of each season to determine those that will compete at the National Finals. The 2014 Funspiel Finals took place on Sunday 23 March at Braehead Curling Rink.

Funspiel finalsFunspiel Under 13 Winners (top left) – Dumfries, L-R; Andrew Murray, Natasha Kerr, Mollie Milligan, Hamish Gallagher, Isla Black and Coach – Graham Sloan. Under 13 Hotshots Winners from Perth (bottom right) L-R; Rory Desmond, Mathew McKenzie, Connor Wilkie-Milne, Calum Robertson.

Funspiel Under 15 Winners (top right) – Hamilton L-R; Megan Macdonald, Katie Baird, Alistair Torrance and Jill Strange. Under 15 Hotshots Winners from Kinrss (bottom left) L-R; Craig Barr, Lewis Leslie, Beth Farmer and Ben Cormack.