The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club

National Governing Body for Curling in Scotland

Wheelchair Squads & Teams

Wheelchair Performance Programme (WCPP)

Selecting athletes for inclusion into the World Class Wheelchair Curling Programmes on the basis of their prospect of winning Paralympic medals in Sochi 2014 and 2018 by gauging key performance factors on an ongoing basis.

As such, inclusion on the programme should be seen as an ‘investment decision’ in future performances at the identified events, not as a reward for past performances. The key question that will be asked when making any selection decision is;

‘Is there a realistic chance of this athlete delivering a medal winning result at the identified Winter Paralympics?’

The World Class PPP and the GB/Scottish WCPP are ‘training & preparation programmes’ – selection to the programmes in no way guarantees selection to any GB or Scottish ‘Representative teams’.  Selection to representative teams will be via an agreed selection process for each Championship which is ratified by the relevant NGB/NPC.

WCPP Squad 2013-2014

Ian Donaldson
Gregor Ewan
Jim Gault
Gill Keith
Tom Killin
Angie Malone
Robert McPherson
Aileen Neilson

Head Coach: Tony Zummack
sportscotland Institute of Sport is the support network for the delivery of the World Class Wheelchair Performance Programme

SWCA Spokes Development Squad

The SWCA intends to build a strong pathway which delivers and aligns with the World Class Programme and which identifies and develops athletes.

The SWCA Development Programme aim is to invest programme support in athletes who are committed to the Development programme and with the prospect to progress to the World Class Programme.  Inclusion on the SWCA Development Programme should be seen as “investment” for future potential at World Championships and for 2018 and 2022 Winter Paralympics.  The ultimate outcome is to be able to medal at World/Paralympic level.

SWCA Development Squad 2013-2014

Daniel Cowan
Douglas Dewar
Alison Hopkins
David Leeson
Seamus McArdle
Debbie McKenna
Hugh Nibloe
Paul Webster

Coaches: TBC